Goethe University Frankfurt am Main, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, and Technical University of Darmstadt make up the RHINE-MAIN-UNIVERSITIES (RMU). The universities have a combined total of around 98,000 students and more than 1,500 professors and cooperate closely in research, studying and teaching. These renowned research universities are shaping the Frankfurt-Rhine-Main region as an internationally visible academic hub.

Between them, the universities offer more than 630 degree programs, with courses covering the entire spectrum of academic fields. In the future, they will combine their research strengths to offer additional joint degree programs. The alliance will increase each university’s academic potential and create strong research networks.

Close cooperation and intensive exchange are essential for science and research. The Rhine-Main Universities consider themselves to be a driving force of interaction – between each other, in the region, with society and business, and internationally.

The RMU was founded in 2015 and is based on the idea of a powerful strategic alliance, led by a team of strong independent partners. Through coordination and close cooperation, they foster improvement in research, teaching, knowledge exchange, and administration and services.


  • The conference will take place on 7 March 2024 at Goethe University Frankfurt am Main from 10:00 am – 7:00 pm. The conference is organized by the two scientists Josef Barla (Goethe University Frankfurt am Main) and Marco Tamborini (Technical University of Darmstadt).

  • The Rhine-Main Universities cordially invite you to the third German ”Open Science Festival” on 17 and 18 September 2024 at Johannes Gutenberg-University in Mainz.  

Gelebte Kooperation (Auswahl)