The Governance of the Rhine-Main Universities: Transparent, Fair, Flexible, Binding

The RMU is based on the idea of a powerful strategic alliance, led by a team of strong independent partners. Through coordination and close cooperation, the RMU fosters improvement in its core areas: research, teaching, knowledge exchange and transfer, and administration and services. Furthermore, the RMU spurs the structured development of the Rhine-Main area into an integrated academic region.


RMU Steering Committee

The RMU Steering Committee is responsible for determining the overall strategy in the core areas of the RMU. It is made up of the presidents, the vice-presidents for administration and financial affairs, and the heads of strategy (in an advisory capacity). The committee meets monthly to ensure close cooperation, timely assessments, and quick decision-making in the fields of cooperation. 

Prof. Dr. Tanja Brühl (TU Darmstadt)
Prof. Dr. Enrico Schleiff (Goethe University Frankfurt)  
Prof. Dr. Georg Krausch (JGU)

Vice-Presidents for Administration and Financial Affairs
Dr. Martin Lommel (TU Darmstadt, from October 2023))
Dr. Albrecht Fester (Goethe University Frankfurt)
Dr. Waltraud Kreutz-Gers (JGU)

Heads of Strategy
Dr. Matthias Adam (TU Darmstadt), Directorate of Strategic Development   
Annabel Bokern (Goethe University Frankfurt), Strategic Controlling
Dr. Kerstin Vogel (JGU), President's Office


RMU Cooperation Management

At each university, a cooperation manager acts as the main contact for all RMU affairs. The cooperation managers work closely with all institutions to coordinate joint initiatives and activities.

TU Darmstadt: Dr. Petra Scheidner (06151-16-20539)
Goethe University Frankfurt: Andreas Karg M.A., M.Sc. (069-798-15192)
JGU: Dr. Eva Werner (06131 39-29547)


RMU Research Council

The RMU Research Council consists of twelve outstanding researchers from the entire spectrum of disciplines represented in the RMU, with each university contributing four members. The Council is appointed by the Steering Committee to advise on and review decisions related to research cooperation and cooperative support of early career researchers. In particular, it participates in the quality control of joint research initiatives and collaborative grant proposals.

TU Darmstadt
Prof. Dr. Rainer Hähnle (Computer Science)
Prof. Dr. -Ing. Jutta Hanson (Electrical Engineering and Information Technology)
Prof. Dr. Markus Löbrich (Biology)
Prof. Dr. Marc Pfetsch (Mathematics)

Goethe University Frankfurt
Prof. Dr. Ingrid Fleming (Medicine / Biochemistry and Pharmacology, Physiology)
Prof. Dr. Cecilia Poletto (Modern Languages)
Prof. Dr. Klaus Günther (Law)
Prof. Dr. Harald Schwalbe (Biochemistry, Chemistry and Pharmacy)

Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
Prof. Dr. Matthias Neubert (Physics)
Prof. Dr. Doris Prechl (Ancient Studies)
Prof. Dr. Daniel Schunk (Legal and Economic Studies)
Prof. Dr. med. Frauke Zipp (Medicine)



RMU Initiative Funding for Research

The Initiative Funding for Research consists of two funding lines. In funding line 1, preparations for large-scale, strategically relevant RMU collaborative projects are funded with up to 50,000 euros. In funding line 2, projects can raise funds of 20,000 euros per year for the development and deepening of RMU-internal cooperation if they aim for long-term, sustainable cooperation aimed at joint collaborative projects.

RMU Initiative Funding for Teaching

The Initiative Funding for Teaching also uses a competitive selection process to grant 150,000 EUR a year to cooperative inter-university qualitative developments in studying and teaching.

Zugehörige News